Ship Launching Commemorative: AXES

My final ship launching commemorative post. I hope I haven’t bored you…

Today I will show two post-war items that are in the shape of axes. I am not sure why this shape is used, but I have seen pre-war launching commemoratives in the same shape, so there is some sort of tradition with the axes.

Here is an axe dated July 4, Showa 50 (1975) and the ship was called the 55th Mitake-Maru. Built by the Southern Japan Shipbuilding Corporation.

And another from the same shipbuilder. This is the 57th Mitake-Maru, launched on August 7, 1980.

Well, that’s all for the ship launching items. I still have a handful of post-war postcards to show you, but for now I will head back toward badges and medals.

Published in: on January 29, 2010 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://imperialjapansakecups.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/ship-launching-commemorative-axes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

